Divorcees may be eligible for the same kind of premium refund as a parent. If your ex-husband or ex-wife were built with a poor record and you have continued to pay their old surcharged rates simply because they left all your family members permanently, bring this towards the immediate attention of the insurance representative. Visit him with all of pertinent and documented information so your premiums can be reduced immediately while the application read more for a premium refund is processed.
The insurance companies hold these transgressions against our records for anywhere from three to reside years, based upon state law and individual company policy. Several transgressions or a mixture of two or more moving violations and reported at-fault accidents may well not only substantially increase your rates, but will also force you to stick with the same company, paying its high premiums, with the aspiration of not getting canceled and thrown to the assigned risk pool, where it may be even worse.
For instance, suppose you’re a New York State driver who received a speeding ticket during a winter visit to Florida and that you then slid about the ice on the way home, causing $2,000 injury to your car, that you reported in your insurance company.
As an example, if you were separated or divorced last year but forgot that you simply were still paying a $600 premium with different two-car family, you’d be eligible for a sudden rate reduction to $250 (according to only your automobile) and a premium refund of $560. If you have neglected to inform your insurance company for just two years, you would be entitled to a $780 refund, etc.
If your insurance company procrastinates or refuses outright to pay the refund, your state insurance department (Consumer Affairs Division) can help you with a legitimate complaint. Being a last resort, there is a option of taking the matter to some small-claims court or your attorney. See sample letters A and B. My adage, that a clean record today keeps the top rates away, is truer now than in the past. Since the advent of the computer age, all moving violations and reported accidents appear Department of Motor Vehicles (D.M.V.) Report even when they occurred out of state, while driving a borrowed or rented car, or while driving a company vehicle practical.